Barbecued Mini Ribs

These tasty ribs are known as Costillas in Spain. They are delicious cooked on a barbecue and almost as good when cooked under a hot grill. If you prefer a sweeter flavor, use freshly squeezed orange juice instead of the sweet sherry.

  • Serves 6-8

Ingredients

  • 1 sheet of pork ribs, about 1 1/2 lb
  • 6 tablespoon sweet oloroso sherry
  • 1 tablespoon tomato purée (paste)
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon Tabasco Sauce
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoon seasoned plain (all-purpose) flour
  • Coarse sea Salt

Preparation

Separate the ribs, then, using a meat cleaver or heavy knife, cut each rib in half widthways to make about 30 pieces.

Mix the sherry, tomato purée, soy sauce, Tabasco, and sugar in a bowl. Stir in 1/2 teaspoon of salt.

Put the seasoned flour in a strong plastic bag, then add the ribs and toss to coat.

Dip each rib in the sauce. Cook on a hot barbecue or under a hot grill (broiler) for 30-40 minutes, turning occasionally until cooked and a little charred.

See also

The Food of Spain

The Food of Spain

Written by James Beard award-winning author Claudia Roden, an authority on Mediterranean and North African cooking, The Food of Spain is one of the best, and most comprehensive, cookbooks about Spanish cuisine published in recent years. Containing hundreds of classic Spanish recipes, The Food of Spain is an excellent resource for fans of Spanish and Mediterranean cooking as well serious chefs and home cooks.

Find out more

  • Feast of Spanish Flavor Basket and Tapas Recipe Book

    Feast of Spanish Flavor Basket and Tapas Recipe Book

    Our Feast of Spanish Flavor basket contains all anyone will need for an authentic tapas celebration - just add friends for any evening to remember. This large gift basket includes some of Spain's finest foods and wines, all ready to eat with no preparation. Packed in a beautiful woven basket.

    This combination includes the 'Tapas: Delicious Little Dishes of Spain' recipe book.

    Find out more
myTaste.com